Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
2016-2017 Nominee Information
Share |

The OPSC Nominating Committee is aware of its responsibility to nominate qualified osteopathic physicians and to provide balanced representation on the Board of Directors by virtue of geography, practice type, age, and gender parameters. Added to the above are considerations for desire to serve and the character, ability, and time commitment that a potential nominee would bring to the board. Also important to any organization is a certain continuum, i.e., a core of committed leadership able to bring a sense of organizational history. This, too, was a consideration weighed by the committee. The Nominating Committee was careful to balance the slate with experience, activism, interest, commitment and fresh perspectives. As a result of these considerations, the following nominees were selected:





 PRESIDENT-ELECT: Brian Loveless, DO – Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific, '02. He completed his Family Practice Residency at Chino Valley Medical Center, and was in private practice in Chino for 6 years after residency. He became faculty at WesternU in 2011, where he is an assistant professor of NMM/OMM and still maintains a clinical practice. He is a past Director of OPSC from 2009-2012, and has chaired the Education and Publications Committees. He is chair of the Utilization of Osteopathic Concepts Committee at Chino Valley Medical Center, and continues to practice twice-weekly OMM rounds with the Family Medicine residents there. In 2009 he was voted OPSC's Rookie of the Year, and was Physician of the Year in 2013. Dr. Loveless is a member of the San Bernardino County Osteopathic Medical Association.





VICE PRESIDENT: Richard B. Riemer, DO – Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine, ’84. Dr. Riemer is a neurologist who will conclude his practice with Sutter Medical Group-Neuroscience Division, where he served as Medical Director for Sutter SpineCare, in December of 2015. He will be joining Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine as Senior Associate Dean as of January 2016. Dr. Riemer was the first DO resident at UC Davis Medical Center, where he would go on to serve as Chief Resident in the Department of Neurology and complete fellowship training in clinical neurophysiology. He is board certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and certified in Neurorehabilitation. Dr. Riemer has been voted outstanding Teacher of the Year on four occasions and Osteopathic Physician of the Year in 2014. Academic appointments include Professor of Neurology at Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine and UC Davis Medical Center/Medical School Department of Neurology. Since 2004, Dr. Riemer has served as the Medical Director for Schools Insurance Authority, a not-for-profit Joint Powers Authority for 50 Northern California School Districts. He is a consultant to the Osteopathic Medical Board of California. Dr. Riemer is a member of the Greater Sacramento Osteopathic Medical Association.



Members, Board of Directors term expires 2019




Mohammad Jamshidi, DO, FACS, FASA – Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine, '93. Dr. Jamshidi is a general, peripheral vascular and endovascular surgeon. He is currently Chairman of the Department of Surgery at Tri-City Medical Center in Oceanside, California and Assistant Professor of Surgery at Western University/COMP. Dr. Jamshidi completed a general/vascular surgery residency and cancer fellowship at Western Reserve Care System - Forum Health in Youngstown, Ohio. He is Board certified by the American Board of Surgery/Vascular Surgery and by the Clinical & Applied Thrombosis / Hemostasis and Vascular Medicine. He is also a fellow of American College of Surgeons and the American Society of Angiology. Dr. Jamshidi is a member of San Diego Osteopathic Medical Association.



Frederick White, DO – University of Northern Texas Health & Science Center, '77. Dr. White is President of Apex Radiology Medical Group, Inc. and President & Chairman of Hemet Valley Imagine Medical Group, Inc. in Hemet, California. He is Vice-President, Director of Medical Education - Residency and Program Director - Radiology Residency with Physicians for Healthy Hospitals. He is also a Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Radiology at Western University/COMP. Dr. White completed a diagnostic radiology residency at Naval Regional Medical Center in San Diego.





Blake Wylie, DO – University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine, '08. Dr. Wylie is a family practice physician practicing osteopathic rural family medicine at the Julian Medical Clinic, an FQHC rural clinic; a division of Borrego Community Health Foundation. He is also Medical Director of Borrego Community Health Foundation's contracted clinics. Dr. Wylie completed a family medicine residency at Downey Regional Medical Center. He is a member of the San Diego Osteopathic Medical Association.




Member, Board of Directors term expires 2017 (fulfilling unexpired term)



Clarence (Nic) Nicodemus, DO, PhD – Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine, '04. Dr. Nicodemus is a Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine/OMM specialist in private practice in Monterey, California. He holds a clinical faculty appointment at MSU COM in the Department of Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine (NMM). He completed an NMM residency at Mount Clemens Regional Hospital in Michigan. Dr. Nicodemus was previously a biomechanical engineer with a BS, MS and PhD in engineering with specialty in Orthopedic Biomechanics from UC Davis. He was an Assistant Professor of Orthopedic Surgery and Director of Orthopedic Spine research at the University of Texas Medical Branch. Dr. Nicodemus is a member of the Bay Area Osteopathic Medical Association.









Cast Your Ballot!

2015 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95811

(916) 822-5246

(916) 822-5247